By , January 20, 2012 10:41 pm

Call for Papers – Extended Deadline 15 January 2010 (Friday)

In Cooperation with
the Society for Philosophy and Technology (,
the IEEE Society for the Social Implications of Technology (,
the Liberal Education Division (here) & Technology Literacy Constituent Committee (here) of the ASEE,
the International Network for Engineering Studies (,
& the Engineering Philosophy Committee of the Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) of ASCE (


9-10 May 2010 (Sunday Evening-Monday), Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado USA
Call for Papers – Extended Deadline 15 January 2010 (Friday)

Background: The 2010 Forum on Philosophy, Engineering & Technology (fPET-2010) is an outgrowth of the Workshop on Philosophy and Engineering (WPE-2007 in Delft and WPE-2008 in London). The mission of the Forum is (1) to encourage reflection on engineering, engineers, and technology by philosophers and engineers alike and (2) to build bridges between existing organizations of philosophers and of engineers. fPET-2010 will be held as an intensive one-day meeting on 9-10 May 2010 (Sunday evening-Monday) at the Colorado School of Mines in Golden, CO.

Abstracts (500-750 words) are invited for submission in one of three tracks:

  • Track One:      ��   Philosophy (reviewing by philosophers)
  • Track Two:          Engineering ethics and other interdisciplinary topics (mixed reviewing)
  • Track Three:       Reflections of practitioners (reviewing by engineers)

All submissions will be blind-reviewed by the program committee.  Those accepted for presentation at fPET-2010 will be scheduled for 30-minute talks (inclusive of Q&A). All abstracts accepted for fPET-2010 will be published online at the Forum website and in a printed volume available at the meeting. A volume of selected papers from fPET-2010 will be published by a major publisher.

Instructions: Plain text abstracts may be submitted electronically at before close of business Friday, 15 January 2010.  Notification of acceptances will be sent by 15 March 2010.

Steering committee: Richard Evans (Cornell), Kenneth R. Foster (Pennsylvania), David E. Goldberg (Illinois), Domenico Grasso (Vermont), Rachelle Hollander (CEES, NAE), Diane P. Michelfelder (Macalester College), Carl Mitcham (Colorado School of Mines), Mike Murphy (Dublin Institute of Technology), Joseph Pitt (Virginia Tech), Ibo van de Poel (TUDelft), Jon A. Schmidt (Burns & McDonnell) & Cherrice Traver (Union College)

Program committee:
Stephen C. Armstrong, AMGI-Bywater
Caroline Baillie, University of Western Australia
Mark Bedau, Reed College and Protolife
Sarah Bell, University College London
Louis Bucciarelli, MIT
Philip Chmielewski, Loyola Marymount University
Steven L. Goldman, Lehigh University
Steen Hyldgaard Christensen, Aarhus University
Michael Davis, Illinois Institute of Technology
Darryl Farber, Pennsylvania State University
Jun Fudano, Kanazawa Institute of Technology
Dennis Gedge, Consulting Engineer
Steven L. Goldman, Lehigh University
Alastair Gunn, University of Waikato
Deborah G. Johnson, University of Virginia
Sherra E. Kerns, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering
Billy V. Koen, The University of Texas at Austin
Russell Korte, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Peter Kroes, TUDelft
Michael C. Loui, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Byron Newberry, Baylor University
Steven P. Nichols, The University of Texas at Austin
Ibo van de Poel, TUDelft
Hans Poser, TUBerlin
Donna M. Rizzo, University of Vermont
Viola Schiaffonati, Politecnico di Milano
Jon A. Schmidt, Burns & McDonnell
Peter Simons, Trinity College Dublin
Karl A. Smith, University of Minnesota & Purdue University
Mark Somerville, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering
John P. Sullins, Sonoma State University
Herman T. Tavani, Rivier College
Pieter Vermaas, TUDelft

Forum Co-Chairs:
David E. Goldberg (
Diane P. Michelfelder (

Local Arrangements:
Carl Mitcham (

Web & Technology:
Xavier Llorà (

Abstracts (500-750 words) due Friday, 15 January 2010

Calls for Papers, Previous Workshops

Comments are closed

Panorama Theme by Themocracy